beauty & makeup reviews / skincare

Skincare Routine for Dry Skin

korres-wild-rose-and-vitamin-c-sleeping-facial

I’ve spoken before about my top 3 face cleansers for dry skin, but so far I haven’t actually done a skincare routine. So, here goes! As always, I have dry, slightly acne-prone skin.

1. Cleanser. I use Fresh’s Soy Face Cleanser or a cleansing oil when I have a lot of makeup to remove, followed by Murad, but most days I just go straight to the source and use Murad’s Refreshing Cleanser Age Reform. I’m not particularly concerned with aging or wrinkles yet as I’m still quite young, but I fell deeply in love with this cleanser the first time I tried it and it suits my skin-type so well. This comes out of the tube or bottle as a thick white cream, but with just a tiny bit of rubbing onto face or between hands it dissolves into this fantastic, incredibly creamy, light product that deep-cleans without leaving behind any dryness or feeling of tightness. My face feels completely cleansed afterward, fresh and clear, with no downsides at all. It’s so hard for those of us with dry skin to find that cleanser with a perfect balance, but I believe this is it. I expect to be using it for years.

2. Scrub. C. Booth’s Green Apple Microdermabrasion Scrub. I use this 2-3 times a week after removing makeup, instead of the Murad. It has large beads that perform a medium-gentle exfoliation and microdermabrasion action on the skin – it’s too rough to use every single day, but the results are so great I use it as often as I can. It smells divine – like green apples – and leaves my skin noticeably brighter and clearer, beyond any other skincare product I use. I don’t recommend for those with highly sensitive skin – my skin is a little sensitive and this is fine but might irritate very sensitive , but I do recommend it for dry, normal, and oily skin as it does a great job of smoothing and exfoliating.

3. Moisturizer. Because I wear tinted moisturizer instead of foundation, I don’t see the need to apply moisturizer in the morning – instead I apply it only at night before sleeping. I’ve done a full review before of the Korres Wild Rose Brightening Sleeping Facial, and it’s still my go-to.  Incredibly silky, deeply moisturizing, calming on the skin, and smells like a delicate rose (a very subtle, not overpowering scent), this is the sort of Holy Grail product you recommend to all your friends. It’s very very light so blends in to the skin very easily, but packs a punch of moisture and protectiveness and gives the skin a healthy, lovely glow. I can’t recommend enough, and again, because it’s so light, I gladly recommend it for all skin types including oily. Note: I’ve tried the 24-Hour Daily Brightening Cream, and am sad to say that it is noticeably less effective and I don’t particularly recommend it. The Sleeping Facial is the way to go.

4. Mask. I haven’t found a mask I absolutely adore yet – I currently use the Korres Wild Rose from the same line as the above – but it’s quite similar to the sleeping facial, and I generally wear masks only when my skin has been under a lot of stress and/or is dehydrated, in which case it needs something a little stronger than this mask. I’m happy to take recommendations! I do like this quite a lot however, it’s breathable but does provide a lot of moisture. Leave on for at least 20 minutes then wash off with cold water.

What are your favorite skin products?

 

Leave a Reply

