this & that

Best Products for Dry Hair (or, How I Saved My Hair)

hairproducts

I have impossibly dry, impossibly thick hair. In my quest to find products and brands that worked, I cycled through nearly every drugstore brand and a fair segment of higher-level brands available, and I will tell you the truth: shampoo aside, it wasn’t until I mostly shifted to more expensive brands that I was able to find something that worked, and not just kind-of-sort-of-worked, but magically worked.

1. Clear Scalp and Hair Therapy Shampoo. I used Head & Shoulders and several other brands and was reasonably happy with them, but it wasn’t until I tried this that I realized just how unimpressive the others were comparatively. Not only does this do a better job of minimizing dandruff than any of the others – I noticed the difference the first time I used this – but it also does a straight shot of desperately needed, long-lasting moisture into my hair. It’s the most effective dandruff shampoo I’ve ever used, and leaves my hair itself soft and moisturized. Can be found for $5-$7 at any Target or drugstore. Definitely a keeper.

2. Aveda’s Dry Remedy Moisturizing Masque. I use this as my conditioner and ladies – it is thesingle best thing I have ever put on my hair. If I could take only one hair product to a desert island, this would be it. I remember the first time I used it just how disbelievingly I ran my hands over my hair after I’d showered and let it dry – it was the softest my hair had ever felt. I tried dozens of both high and low brand moisturizing shampoos and conditioners before finding on this – and even though I occasionally still try something new, I’ve never found anything better, so have stuck with this for the past two+ years. If you have dry hair, run, don’t walk, to the nearest Aveda and get this. It is pricey, but it’s insanely effective and best of all it lasts forever – one bottle lasts months. As a plus? It smells divine and is impossible to overuse – it’s easy to start out using more than you actually need, but it doesn’t weight your hair down or make it greasy, your hair still turns out soft, lightweight and shiny. Approximately $60 a year to have incredibly soft hair year-round? I’ll take it.

3. Bumble & Bumble Hairdresser’s Invisible Oil. Liquid gold in a bottle. This is the only hair oil I have ever tried that blends in instantly without leaving any weight, stickiness, or oiliness behind, while still working like magic to smooth flyaways and leave your hair soft. Pump just a tiny bit into your hands, work through hair, and boom. Soft and controlled. Perfect.

Leave a Reply

